Par Roseline

This is my first official post, and a very short one, and I’m sorry for the delay. I’ll be contributing more and more in the next coming days and I wanted to start with this: Rwanda Threatens to Pull Peacekeepers From Darfur

Finally right? Most of us Rwandans have always known that this day would come but I guess some of us lost hope along the way. For years, the story of our country’s dark days hasn’t been told in full and with this new report from the U.N., we can expect that to change.

And here’s an updated version with a Rwandan official further defending their decision to pull out of Darfur:
Rwanda: Peacekeepers On Standby for Pull Out – Mushikiwabo

In short, it’s desperate and the fact that the Rwandan government is reacting like this in the first place only shows the rest of the world that they have something to fear. Even more of a bigger reason why this report should and will be published and I hope it does not hold back. The saying is true that everything you do in the dark will eventually come to light. Rwanda is no exception. We, Rwandans, speak of “moving on” and “never again” but we will never be able to do that until the full truth is revealed. Our country has thousands of skeletons in its closet and it’s time to let it all out.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

_Roseline

